First Cohort of Mayne Pharma Scholars Selected

Photo of PCC Clock Tower with Warren Cupola in the background set against a clear blue sky.

WINTERVILLE—Pitt Community College administrators will join representatives from Mayne Pharma, Pitt County Schools and the Greenville-Pitt County Chamber of Commerce Tuesday to introduce the first group of Mayne Pharma Scholars Program participants.

Launched March 26, the Mayne Pharma Scholars Program is designed to identify high-potential, STEM-focused students (either PCC biotechnology students or Pitt County high school seniors) and invest in their training for pharmaceutical industry careers, specifically with Mayne Pharma. The eight students chosen for the initial cohort – Annabel Bivans, Clemente Rodriguez, Haleigh Combs, Julianne Haifley, Maria Gonzalez, Mariela Aguirre and Natasha Thorp – will begin the program this fall.

“We congratulate these students on their selection …,” said John Ross, president of Mayne Pharma USA. “Their involvement will enhance their academic experience, help them fulfill their potential and provide them with rigorous preparation for a career at Mayne Pharma.”

Students selected as Mayne Pharma Scholars receive full scholarships to attend PCC for two years (or eight semesters) and have the opportunity to work as full-time interns at Mayne Pharma with the intent of working for the company after graduation.

“Pitt Community College is committed to enhancing student outcomes and making education more accessible, and the Mayne Pharma Scholars Program will move the needle in both of those endeavors,” PCC President Lawrence Rouse said. “We’re exceedingly grateful to Mayne Pharma for their efforts to establish this program and for the confidence they’ve shown our students, faculty and staff with regard to preparing members of their future workforce.”

For more information about the Mayne Pharma Scholars Program, contact Mayne Pharma Vice President of Group Human Resources Andrew Herdman at (252) 752-3800 or Andrew.Herdman@maynepharma.com.