English Language Acquisition (ELA)

ELA Students

(Formerly known as ESL – English as a Second Language)

ELA is a program of instruction designed to help adults with limited or no English language proficiency improve their English reading, writing, and communication skills.  Classes are offered year round, Monday – Thursday. There are morning and night classes available. Most classes are 8:00 am – 12:00 pm or 6:00 pm- 9:00 pm. Instruction is given at the beginning, intermediate and advanced levels.

For more information on ELA classes, please contact Jan Fisher at 493-7213. Cost: Free

ELA Orientation & Assessment: New and Returning Students

Hours: 3

To enroll in an English Language Acquisition (ELA) class, please attend an ELA orientation in the Leslie Building. The Leslie Building is located at 2000 Eddie Smith Street, Pitt Community College. Please note that the ELA Orientation is a required three-hour session held at the beginning of each semester. Please see the orientation schedule below. Cost: Free.

Orientation DatesClass Begins
January
Thursday, January 2, 5:00 pm OR Friday, January 3, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, January 6
Thursday, January 9, 5:00 pm OR Friday, January 10, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, January 13
February
Thursday, February 6, 5:00 pm OR Friday, February 7, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, February 10
March
Thursday, March 5, 5:00 pm OR Friday, March 6, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, March 9
April
Thursday, April 2, 5:00 pm OR Friday, April 3, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, April 6

English Flyer

Spanish Flyer

For more information, contact:

Jan Fisher
ELA Coordinator
252-493-7213
GHL 109
jfisher@email.pittcc.edu

facebook logo