English Language Acquisition (ELA)

ELA Students

(Formerly known as ESL – English as a Second Language)

ELA is a program of instruction designed to help adults with limited or no English language proficiency improve their English reading, writing, and communication skills. For more information on ELA classes, please contact Jan Fisher at 493-7213. Cost: Free

ELA Orientation & Assessment: New and Returning Students

Hours: 3

To enroll in an English Language Acquisition (ELA) class, please attend an ELA orientation in the Leslie Building. The Leslie Building is located at 2000 Eddie Smith Street, Pitt Community College. Please note that the ELA Orientation is a required three-hour session held at the beginning of each semester. Please see the orientation schedule below. Cost: Free.

Orientation DatesClass Begins
July
Monday, July 1, 9:00 am OR Monday, July 1, 5:00 pmClass begins Monday, July 8
August
Thursday, August 1, 5:00 pm OR Friday, August 2, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, August 5
September
Thursday, September 5, 5:00 pm OR Friday, September 6, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, September 9
October
Thursday, October 3, 5:00 pm OR Friday, October 4, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, October 7
November
Thursday, November 7, 5:00 pm OR Friday, November 8, 9:00 amClass begins Monday, November 11

English Flyer

Spanish Flyer

For more information, contact:

Jan Fisher
ELA Coordinator
252-493-7213
GHL 109
jfisher@email.pittcc.edu

facebook logo