Experience PCC Academics Continuing Education Distance Learning Faculty & Staff Contact
Apply Now Click Here

Phi Theta Kappa Welcomes 25 New Members

Some of PTK's newest members pose for a group photo following their induction. From left to right, they are: (front row) Celina Harris, Samantha McGowan, Rachel Pope, Toshiko Preston, Yvonne Radford and Eric Walls. (Back row) Matthew Boykin, Melissa Campbell, Brian Ennis, David Erwin, Abigail Fallahee, Sydney Finau and Eric Hansson. (Photo contributed by Alexandra Novarro)

WINTERVILLE—Pitt Community College's Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chapter welcomed 25 new members to its ranks last month for demonstrating high academic achievement at the college.

The Beta Nu Upsilon Chapter of PTK, which held its charter induction in 2005, installed its newest inductees on March 28, during a ceremony in the Craig F. Goess Student Center.

Inducted during last month’s ceremony were Nicole Berardi, Matthew Boykin, Maria Caballero, Melissa Campbell, David Carraway, Lavenia Cobb, Brian Ennis, David Erwin, Abigail Fallahee, Sydney Finau, Joanne Galinis, Derrick Gardner, Eric Hansson, Celina Harris, Jack Kittrell, Russell Maysey, Samantha McGowan, Hayley Mills, Meredith Mozingo, Rachel Pope, Toshiko Preston, Yvonne Radford, Dena Rouse, Eric Walls and Ebony West

To be eligible for PTK membership at Pitt, students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours of associate degree coursework with a 3.75 grade point average or higher. As PTK members, students must maintain a high academic standing (a 3.5 GPA or above) throughout their PCC enrollment.

Established in 1918, PTK is the official honor society for two-year colleges and features more than two million members, making it the largest honor society in American higher education.