Experience PCC Academics Continuing Education Distance Learning Faculty & Staff Contact
Apply Now Click Here

PTK Honor Society Inducts Newest Members

Some of PCC's newest Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society members take time out for a group photo following last month's induction ceremony in the G.H. Leslie Building. From left to right, they are: Brian Wilson, Randy Allen, Jordan Capone, Yvonne Preddie, Tyler Ebeling, Melissa Miller, Alexandra Novarro, Brandon Thomas, Erin Congleton and Sang Joon Park.

WINTERVILLE—Pitt Community College's Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chapter welcomed 21 new members to its ranks last month for demonstrating high academic achievement at the college.

The Beta Nu Upsilon Chapter of PTK, which held its charter induction in 2005, installed its newest inductees on Oct. 25, during a ceremony in the G.H. Leslie Building.

Inducted during last month’s ceremony were Randy Allen, Amanda Alnadesh, Madison Bergstedt, Jordan Capone, Amanda Christian, Erin Congleton, Tyler Ebeling, Carman Fussell, Judith Gant, Brian Hardy, Kelly Holton, Michael Hughes, Alexandra Novarro, Christopher Pace, Sang Joon Park, Ana Ponce, Yvonne Preddie and Brandon Thomas.

Three more students – James Asbill, Melissa Miller and Brian Wilson – transferred their PTK memberships to Beta Nu Upsilon from other colleges.

To be eligible for PTK membership at Pitt, students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours of associate degree coursework with a 3.75 grade point average or higher. As PTK members, students must maintain a high academic standing (a 3.5 GPA or above) throughout their PCC enrollment.

Established in 1918, PTK is the official honor society for two-year colleges and features more than two million members, making it the largest honor society in American higher education.