NOTE: Tuition is set by the North Carolina General Assembly and is subject to change without notice.
The payment of all tuition and fees is required at the time of registration. Any student who does not pay fees will have his/her schedule purged from all classes. Students may not attend class until tuition is paid.
The Cashier's Office, located in room # 101 of the Craig F. Goess Building, is open Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Special hours apply during registration periods and Summer semester. The Cashier's phone number is: (252) 493-7234.
Tuition for North Carolina Residents
Tuition for Non-North Carolina Residents
- Tuition for Out-of-State Residents
- Tuition for Virtual Students
- Residence Classification (for tuition purposes)
- Student Activity Fee
- Accident Insurance Fee
- Professional Liability Insurance
- Parking Fee
- Textbooks and Supplies
- Student Fees for Laboratory/Clinical/Shop
Effective with the Spring 2016 semester, the tuition charge for curricular students is $76.00 per credit hour. All North Carolina residents enrolled for 16 or more curricular credit hours are charged a maximum tuition of $1,216.00 per semester. Example: 16 credit hours x $76.00 per credit hour equals $1,216.00. For part-time students, the fee is also $76.00 per credit hour. Example: six credit hours x $76.00 per credit hour equals $456.00.
Audit students must pay the same tuition rates as other students.
The entrance requirements and admission procedures for persons who reside outside North Carolina are the same as for residents. Effective with the Spring 2016 semester, tuition for non-residents is $268.00 per credit hour and will not exceed $4,288.00 per semester for full-time enrollment (16 hrs. x $268.00 = $4,288.00). For part-time students, the fee is also $268.00 per credit hour. Example: 6 credit hours x $268.00 equals $1,608.00.
In-state virtual students pay the same tuition rates and fees as in-state on-campus students.
Under North Carolina law, a person may qualify as a resident for tuition purposes in North Carolina, thereby being eligible for a tuition rate lower than for non-residents. Copies of the applicable law concerning residency classification for tuition purposes are set forth in detail in A Manual to Assist the Public Higher Education Institutions of North Carolina in the Matter of Student Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes. This manual is available for review in the Reference section of the Library. Any new student who desires to request consideration for in-state residence for tuition purposes is encouraged to submit a completed Appendix B to theVice President of Student Development Services Office as soon as possible, but at least two (2) days before the beginning of TAP registration or two days before late registration. The Residence Committee will only review Appendix B applications that are submitted in accordance with the time line as stated above.
Student Activity Fee
The student activity fee for each student is $21.00 for Fall and Spring semesters and $15.00 for Summer semester. This rate is subject to change without notice.
Computer Use and Technology Fee
The student technology fee for each student is $16.00 per semester. This rate is subject to change without notice.
Return Check Fee
A returned check fee of $25.00 will be charged for checks received by the college that have been returned for non sufficient funds or other reasons.
Accident Insurance Fee
Accident insurance, covering hours in school and transportation between PCC and school supervised and sponsored activities, is required at a minimum cost per semester. Students must submit claims for injury covered under the accident insurance provisions immediately, but in no instance later than 30 days, in order to expect coverage. All accidents must be reported to the dean of students within 24 hours of date of accident.
The premium for accident insurance is subject to change annually.
Professional Liability Insurance
Students enrolled in Health Sciences programs are required to purchase professional liability insurance and encouraged to purchase health insurance prior to clinical practice.
There is a nominal charge for parking permits each semester for all students .
Textbooks and Supplies
The cost of textbooks and supplies varies according to the program of study. These items may be purchased from the College Store.
Student Fees for Laboratory/Clinical/Shop
Lab fees (in the amount of $3.75 per lab hour) are charged for classes which require special equipment or supplies.The lab fee for OTA 220 - OT Media II is $15.00.
The College is authorized to refund tuition under the regulations set forth by the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges (23 NCAC 2d.0202 e) which state that a refund shall not be made except under the following circumstances:
- A 100% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of class(es) of the academic term as noted in the college calendar. Also, a student is eligible for a 100% refund if the class in which the student is officially registered fails to "make" due to insufficient enrollment.
- A 75% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class(es) prior to or on the official 10% point of the term.
- For classes beginning at times other than the first week (seven calendar days) of the term a 100% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to the first class meeting. A 75% refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10% point of the class.
The refund policy is set by the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges and is subject to change without notice.
You can check the last day for refunds by checking the current calendar year.
Activity and insurance fees are nonrefundable.
Students desiring a tuition refund are asked to follow the steps listed below:
- Contact a counselor to obtain the appropriate withdrawal form
- Complete the withdrawal form
- Submit the completed withdrawal form to the Office of the Registrar, and
- Submit the application for refund to the Cashier's Office.
Students that prepay and then officially withdraw from the College may receive a full refund of tuition and fees if the official withdrawal is completed before the first day of classes as published in the school calendar of the term involved.
If a student preregisters using Title IV Financial Aid funds and/or scholarships funds, and (1) fails to maintain measurable satisfactory academic progress resulting in the termination of financial aid, or (2) fails to begin classes during the first week of the term resulting in the termination of financial aid, then the College will credit the amount of tuition and fees to the specific Title IV program or scholarship from which the funds were originally allocated.
When a student recipient of Title IV Financial Aid funds withdraws or is dismissed from PCC prior to the end of an academic period, the institution will determine whether and to what extent the student received overpayment from such funds.This determination will be based upon any discrepancy between the amount of allowable costs (educational cost including room, board, books, supplies, transportation and miscellaneous expenses) incurred by the student up to the date of withdrawal and the amount of Title IV funds received by said students prior to that date.
Overpayment funds reimbursed to the institution by the student shall be credited to the specific Title IV program from which they were originally allocated.